Super 8 Movie Review!

Last night (as most of you already know) I was able to see Super 8, which hits theaters Friday, June 10. I went through a roller coaster of emotions while watching it. Most of it was feeling reminiscent of my childhood, excited, entertained, and a little disgusted…. but I only felt disgusted because someone puked in the movie. It you take that out, it was all good thoughts.

The short version of my review? You should go see this movie. TRUST ME. t’s 100% worth seeing in the theater. In fact, I’m not sure how great it will be if it’s not in the theater. It just wouldn’t be the same.

ACTING: 

You won’t recognize most people in this film, which I liked. Some of the supporting characters will look familiar but you won’t remember their name, and all the kids are newcomers. Surprisingly all the child actors held their own and were very talented and believable. All the characters, especially the kids, left an impression, ended up being fully developed, and I couldn’t help but cheer for them along the way. They made me laugh, they made me cry, and they made me think “DAMN, THAT KID HAS SOME BIG TEETH.” I love you, Ryan Lee!

Elle Fanning, the female lead, is Dakota Fanning’s little sister. She was a surprisingly good actress. Like I said, all the kids were in this film were. Casting kids for lead roles can be tricky. They might have the “look” but not the skills. To me it seems like many directors choose the “look” over the acting chops, but J. J. Abrams held out and found a cast that had everything. Joel Courtney, the young kid who plays the Joe, was THE CUTEST KID OF ALL TIME. His eyes stole my heart. If he sticks around I’m sure he’ll end up breaking a few hearts in Hollywood a la Justin Bieber.

STORY:

My dad said it best during the movie. So many blockbuster films rely on the 20 minute final sequence to wow the viewers into liking the movie, but the best part of Super 8 time leading up to the finale. Don’t get me wrong, the end was great too. But the story telling and character development was on point. I got to know every character, great to love them, grew to hate them…..I found myself leaning forward in my seat hoping they’d make it and rooting for them.

The only reason I give this 4/5 instead of 5/5 is because at certain points the story feels predictable. We all love twists and turns, especially me. Don’t get me wrong this story had a lot of unexpected twists…. but there were a few pivotal moments where I thought to myself, “Oh, I saw that coming from a mile away.” It did feel vaguely reminiscent of E.T., probably because Steven Spielberg was a producer on the film and his storytelling technique came through quite a bit. But it’s very different in many ways, much more updated, and I wouldn’t discount it because of that like I would with Avatar and every other story is resembles.

The good news is… the ending was NOT predictable, and I kept thinking, “Oh, now I know what’s inside the train,” but then something would happen that changed my mind.

ACTION SEQUENCES AND SPECIAL EFFECTS 


Holy sh*t, the train crash was one of the coolest things I’ve EVER seen on a big screen. After it finished (the scene was quite long) my dad and I just looked at each other and said, “WOW.” I highly recommend seeing it in IMAX. I know in some areas it’s more expensive than in others… but if you’re going to pay $10 for a movie you might as well pay $15 and see it on a whole new level.

Another reason I give this 5/5 stars is because I didn’t think to myself, not even one time, “Oh, that looks fake.” I always think that in movies. ALWAYS. But during Super 8, even when you finally see what’s inside the train, I was always left impressed at how realistic everything looked.

I know I mentioned previously that someone puked in the theater, but I also want to mention it wasn’t due to shaky can or gross scenes. It was because that dumb ho was stuffing her face the entire movie and her stomach couldn’t handle any more carbs. You will not get sick watching this movie, I promise.

Overall:

This movie is my favorite non-comedy of 2011 so far. It’s not too scary and great for kids. I, an adult (HA!), enjoyed it immensely. I’m probably going to see it again this weekend. Make sure you carve out some time to go see it, I promise you won’t regret it!


6 responses

  1. djaj

    that guy with the teeth is of david guettas music video titanium!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

    April 4, 2012 at 6:57 AM

  2. i want to slip my cock into ryan lees mouth

    August 3, 2013 at 11:18 PM

  3. And make ryan cry like the bitch he is while i fuck him up his ass! Then beat him down with a thick leather belt. That little slut will love it!

    August 3, 2013 at 11:21 PM

  4. i love websites that dont filter out comments so we can leave the most fucked up statements that we can pour out of our heads. oh, and after i finished fucking and beating ryan, Id piss on him before discarding him on the side of the road naked and barely cinging to life, because i am sure I would have choked him unconscious a few times during sex. haha faggot!

    August 3, 2013 at 11:27 PM

  5. Damn, ppl leave disturbing comments online…makes you wonder if we’re making these things up just to arouse the ire of others or if we really think like this. But I would totally fuck ryan and pull his hair while i did! : )

    August 3, 2013 at 11:32 PM

  6. Anonymous

    @Just me wth ?? LOL

    August 11, 2013 at 1:17 AM

Leave a Reply

