Someone is drowning, better drink my own piss.

Even Bear Grylls’ son is a bad ass! Like father like son, I guess. His 7 year old son Jesse saved the life of a little girl who fell in the steam. Here’s what happened according to Bear:

‘They were in a little base in a stream and she fell in,’ he explains.

‘And — I wasn’t there, you know, and the story grows and grows every time he tells me — but he did rescue her and he was proud as punch to have dragged her out.’

So basically what he’s saying is his 7 year old son is more of a man than you’ll ever be. D’awwwww. I tried to find a picture of his son so I could caption it “SOMEONE IS DROWNING, BETTER DRINK MY OWN PISS” but there aren’t any pictures them online, at least post-baby photos. Seems like he keeps their lives pretty private. Which I think is great. He goes on to say:

‘Their headmaster took me aside and said: “It’s great that they might know how to take the door off a helicopter and deal with a snake bite, but it would be really great if they focused a little more on the mathematics.” I’m kind of feeling that at the moment.

‘For a long time, I never wanted them to be too aware of what I do. I relaxed that when all their friends were talking about me in the playground, and they were the only ones not to have seen the programme.‘But getting the balance right is hard. Do I want them to grow up to be me? No, actually. I’m unemployable in the real world. I don’t want that for them.’His wife, Shara, watches his TV exploits, but he confesses she’s more of a Sex And The City person.

‘It’s good for me, actually. I’m the type who thinks every man should know how to ignite a fire without a lighter or matches, or be able to tie a knot in the dark, but sometimes she says: “All that stuff is great, but it’s not particularly relevant to most people in an office.”

‘I guess I’m lucky I don’t work in an office, but all I’ve been able to do in my life is to be able to climb big things.

‘It might not work out like that for my kids. That’s why I’m trying to say to them: “Listen, you don’t want to do my job.” They say: “We do.” And I say: “No, you don’t.” ’

 

It’s refreshing to see someone be so humble in Hollywood and not want to push their kids into what they do. Granted he does something COMPLETELY different than everyone else on TV, but whatever. I still think it’s cool.


Leave a Reply

