Someone just paid $4.3 million for this ugly ass photograph.

I don’t even know what I’m looking at, but apparently it just sold for $3.89$4,338,500 (oops!) million dollars (MILLION. DOLLARS.) at Christie’s, making it the most expensive photograph ever. Taken by Andreas Gursky, called “Rhein II″ More information via Christie’s:

This work is number one from an edition of six.

Other works from this edition are in the collection of the Museum of Modern Art, New York; Pinakothek der Moderne, Munich; Tate Modern, London and the Glenstone Collection, Potomac.

I DON’T GET IT. I don’t get most art. Apparently this photo is really special for some reason. Special enough to be in museums. For some reason I’ll never understand.

I especially don’t understand people thinking a picture of basically nothing is worth more than $1,000. After $1,000 I’d be like ummmm NOPE! I will find something else beautiful for my living room, thanks.

I hope this photograph was purely a financial investment and not someone just thinking “MAN THIS IS SO BEAUTIFUL I WANT TO PAY MILLIONS OF DOLLARS FOR IT.”

via The Daily What

update: thanks to the person in the comments for correcting me on messing up basically all the information in this post. *knucks*


One response

  1. Stephanie Bell

    This is not by Sherman but Andreas Gursky’s photograph of the Rhine River, called Rhein II which sold for $4.34 million.

    November 9, 2011 at 7:52 PM

Leave a Reply

